FAQs

We get asked certain questions often enough that I thought it would be a good idea to write a bit about them here.  

  • Low-Glycemic Pecan? What does "low-glycemic" mean and what the heck is lucuma powder ?

In the simplest terms, high-glycemic carbs are digested quickly, while low-glycemic carbs are digested more slowly. It is believed that the higher the food is on the glycemic scale, the more it tends to trigger cravings, which can lead to sugar addiction. Eating them also leads to a crash in blood sugar levels, which can then lead to overeating. 

We originally created our low-glycemic pecan granola when Doreen, a regular customer, asked us to come up with something that would better fit into her eating needs. We looked into various unprocessed ingredients that are low on the glycemic index -- coconut palm sugar, agave, stevia, etc. -- and experimented quite a bit before coming up with the combination of brown rice syrup and lucuma powder. The combo created a light, mapley sweetness that isn't cloying or unnatural tasting. 

Brown rice syrup is made from, well, brown rice. It's a good alternative for refined sugar. Lucuma powder is the dried powder of a lucuma fruit, which primarily grows in South America. It is often used to sweeten ice creams and is a suitable substitute for brown sugar. The best part? Lucuma is actually considered a SUPERFOOD! It's high in minerals and antioxidants, vitamins and fiber. It even gives you a nice energy boost that sustains itself for quite a while. Plus it can be used in baking, which made it a good option for us.

This flavor has actually become our biggest seller -- a wonderful outcome to our responding to one customer's needs. It isn't as sweet as most granolas, which our regulars really appreciate. David eats it most mornings over local Bulgarian yogurt. I like it with a bit of fruit added for extra punch. If you're looking to reduce your intake of refined sugar, give our Low-Glycemic Pecan a try. We think you'll like it!

  • Are any of your granolas gluten-free?

This one is a tricky question. While our granolas are naturally gluten-free, we don't advertise them as such because: 1) we don't use certified gluten-free oats and 2) we don't make our granolas in a gluten-free facility. I've known people with celiac disease and understand how terrifying eating out can be for those afflicted with the disease. Many times foods are touted as being gluten-free when they are prepared in a flour-filled kitchen! Those little particles of wheat floating in the air can have a real negative impact on somebody that is extremely sensitive to gluten. We don't ever want to make anybody become ill from eating our granola, which could happen if we made the gluten-free claim. In order to truly create gluten-free granola, we'd have to both buy certified gluten-free oats and rent a facility that is gluten-free. While that is something we're not ruling out, it's just not something we've pursued quite yet. 

So depending on how sensitive you are to gluten, our granola may or may not be okay for you to eat. We've found that most people that are simply avoiding gluten for improved well-being are able to eat our granola. For others that are very sensitive, my heart goes out to you. At least most Mexican food is gluten-free. There's always Mexican food!! Hurrah!!